Tag, You’re It: How I Read

So I have been watching lots and lots of BookTube videos (as usual) and stumbled upon this tag (it’s pretty old)! It seemed pretty interesting to do so:

1. How do you find out about new books to read?

The majority of my TBR list is constructed from BookTube suggestions and what is popular out in the world right now.  Sometimes I’ll browse Goodreads and get hooked on one of their suggestions, or even Amazon suggestions after I buy a certain book.

2. How did you get into reading?

I don’t remember exactly how I started reading, but I remember when I was very young I used to LOVE the Magic Tree House series.  Like seriously LOVE. I think I read one every night.  My mother also has pictures of me holding picture books upside down when I was 2 or 3 years old.  My parents have always emphasized the importance of reading, and I think I just picked that up.

3. How has your taste in books changed as you’ve gotten older?

I don’t think it’s changed that much because I used to love reading everything, and I still love reading everything.  I read mysteries like Nancy Drew to “fantasy” like Magic Tree House to “contemporary” like Junie B. Jones (this series was so amazing) to historical fiction like Anne and the Green Gables or Little House on the Prairie.  I still like all of those different genres, especially fantasy!

4. How often do you buy books?

I do not buy as many books as I would like because I am a poor student 😦 However, I do keep an eye out for deals on websites such as Book Outlet or Amazon. (just got the Game of Thrones box set for like $15!).  I often go to the library to check out books or buy e-books because those tend to be cheaper than the beautiful hardcover copies that I want.

5. How did you get into BookTubing?

Well, I don’t Booktube, but I’ll assume that the question also pertains to book-blogging.  As you all can see, I very recently got into blogging about books.  I have watched Booktube videos for a few months, and I share a similar interest in reading and discussing the books that I have read.  However, I do not have the resources to film and edit videos for Youtube, so I decided to start a blog instead!

6. How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?

I cry.  Not really, but book endings matter a lot to me, and a lot of times, I’ll like the book ending more than I like the beginning.  I may be really disappointed if I did not like the ending of the books. Sometimes I might just pretend that the ending never happened, and just insert my own ending for the story.  That situation is always hard to deal with.  The scariest thing is if the bad ending pulls me into a reading slump.  Sometimes it’s just not worth it.  (I’m looking at you, The Vault of Dreamers)

7. How often have you taken a sneaky look at the back page of a book to see if it’s a happy ending?

I will admit that I have done this before, but not often.  Usually I will look at the back page of a book if I am really terrified that a character I really like is going to die in the novel, and I just cannot handle it if that happened.  However, I hate spoiling myself, so I try to limit the amount of times I do it.  Also, usually the back page doesn’t tell you TOO much about the story.  Sometimes it just makes me more confused as to what happened in the novel.

What Are Your Thoughts?

