May 2015 Wrap-Up

So, I kind of disregarded my TBR that I made at the beginning of the month. Oops.  However, I did read a total of 14 books which I am pretty proud about.


Gatsby_1925_jacket1. Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald – This was a read for school, but it is one of my favorite assigned readings for school.  I gave it a 5 out of 5 stars.  I enjoyed the story and Fitzgerald’s writing is always gripping.  I’m trying to read more classics, so this was a start.  I also bought a bind up of two more of Fitzgerald’s novels and some of his short stories because I really enjoyed this book! For more of my thoughts about Gatsby, read my review here.


daughter-of-smoke-and-bone2. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – A fantasy novel about angels and demons which I gave 5 out of 5 stars.  I love this trilogy so far, and I’m excited to continue on with the rest of the books.  I had planned to read the second book this month too but never got around to it.  The romance is also really interesting in this book, but I don’t want to say much about it because spoilers.  Also, the main protagonist has blue hair.  That’s awesome.


3. Four: A Divergent Collection by Veronica Roth – So, I never read Allegiant, and I heard that Allegiant ruins Four’s character for a variety of reasons.  However, I still like Four based off of the first two books in the series and wanted to learn more about his backstory.  I enjoyed reading from his point of view about before and after he meets Tris! Gave this a 4 out of 5. Full Review is here.


Steelheart_cover

4. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson – Probably one of my favorite books I read this month along with A Monster Calls and Red Rising. I thoroughly enjoyed the narrator and the antihero type feel of his character, and the twists and turns in this novel were always exciting and unexpected.  Five star read! Check out my full review here.


5. A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness – This month was full of amazing books! This story was so touching and I definitely teared up towards the end of the novel.  Seeing the struggle that the boy goes through during this novel is heartbreaking, yet real.  I definitely recommend this to everyone.  It was my first Patrick Ness novel and I’m looking forward to reading more of his writing.


6. A Girl in 6E by Alessandra Torre – I only gave this novel a 3 out of 5 stars.  It’s about a girl who has homicidal tendencies, so she locks herself in an apartment to prevent herself from murdering anyone.  As a result, she resorts to being a webcam girl in order to make a living.  It has a really interesting premise and I enjoyed the story about the character, but it was an erotic thriller novel which isn’t really what I like to read. Some parts weren’t as believable, but recommend to those who like Dexter and are okay with erotica!


7. Red Rising by Pierce Brown – This was amazing! It’s been compared to The Hunger Games and Ender’s Game and I definitely see those elements, but it is a really unique dystopian world that Pierce Brown has made.  There are elements that are completely mindblowing and the there should be a lot more hype about this series.  I know people say it is hard to get into at first, but it is worth it! For all my thoughts, see my full review here.


you

8. The Young Elites by Marie Lu – I love Marie Lu! Her Legend trilogy was phenomenal and this trilogy has definitely captured my interest.  Oddly enough, this novel took me a little while to finish, especially for its size.  However, I really enjoyed reading from the main character’s point of view; she has a very dark, antihero tone and being in her mind is terrifying yet amazing at the same time.  It takes a bit to get into this world, I think, but it is definitely worth it in the end! My full review is here!


9. All 6 Vampire Academy books by Richelle Mead – I don’t know why I did not pick up this series sooner! It is actually a vampire series that impressed me (unlike the Twilight saga).  The narrator Rose annoyed me sometimes, but I loved most of the side characters and the main love interests, Dimitri and Adrian.  I thought the love triangle was not that necessary since it was pretty obvious who Rose would end up with, but I still loved both characters.  I enjoyed the action and politics and the world that Richelle Mead created! I’m not sure if I want to read the Bloodlines series because I know it’s centered on Sydney.  While I liked her, I don’t know how interested I am in her story.


So, that was all the books I read in the month of May.  I’m pretty proud of myself for reading this many even though I didn’t read any of the books on my May TBR post. Maybe I shouldn’t do TBR posts because I don’t think i work too well within parameters!  Leave me a comment about your reading experience this month!

Talk to you later,

A

One comment

What Are Your Thoughts?

