Book Rambling: The Wrath & The Dawn

Title: The Wrath and The Dawn

Author: Renee Ahdieh

Series: The Wrath and the Dawn (Book 1)

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy

Publication: May 12, 2015

Rating: ★★★★★


Goodreads Summary: 

Every dawn brings horror to a different family in a land ruled by a killer. Khalid, the eighteen-year-old Caliph of Khorasan, takes a new bride each night only to have her executed at sunrise. So it is a suspicious surprise when sixteen-year-old Shahrzad volunteers to marry Khalid. But she does so with a clever plan to stay alive and exact revenge on the Caliph for the murder of her best friend and countless other girls. Shazi’s wit and will, indeed, get her through to the dawn that no others have seen, but with a catch . . . she’s falling in love with the very boy who killed her dearest friend.

She discovers that the murderous boy-king is not all that he seems and neither are the deaths of so many girls. Shazi is determined to uncover the reason for the murders and to break the cycle once and for all. 


Non-Spoiler: 

I was intrigued by this novel ever since I read the summary and had to get my hands on it as soon as possible.  This is probably one of my favorite books of the year so far.   I liked Shahrzad and Khalid’s characters, but I also enjoyed a lot of the side characters too.

It was interesting to see how the story plays out. The world building was phenomenal and so were the magical elements and character development.  I was hooked by this book and read it in one sitting.  This novel focused mainly on the romance aspect rather than tackling the world as a whole, but there will definitely be more of both in the next book based off of how this one ended.

The ending so heart-breaking and made me feel so many feels, so be ready.  The setting and culture in this novel were perfectly described, and you really feel that you are part of it! I need the next book NOW! Cannot wait.   Go read it now; you will not regret it.


Spoiler Section:

I want to get the negatives out of the way so I can start gushing about how amazing this book is.  This novel is written in third person, but it follows three different plot lines/perspectives which all combined by the end of the novel.  I loved reading Shahrzad’s story and the development of her relationship with the Caliph.  However, I didn’t really enjoy reading the plot lines with Shahrzad’s ex-boyfriend or her father – I found myself rushing through them to get to more of Shahrzad.  However, the love triangle kept me on edge, especially towards the end of the book.  Now that we have a better understanding of the magic and the world, the political issues also really intrigue me.

This book just made me so emotional with the tragedy of Khalid’s past and the ending.  The ending was phenomenal.  Khalid’s letter to Shahrzad that he burned was one of the most heart wrenching things I have read.  My shipper heart loves those two so much, and I want more of their story now.

I also loved how Shahrzad is a really strong female character.  She is great with a bow, and she can kick some butt which is always great.   However, I love seeing her vulnerable side too.  Despina is also a really great female character, and I want more of her and Jalal.  AND there’s a baby coming too!  Can you tell I just want more of this story?  I wish the next book was here already.

The dialogue and details in each scene was on point, and I loved the incorporation of the Arabian setting and culture.  The glossary in the back helped with the terms I was unfamiliar with, and it made everything seem more authentic!


Quotable Quotes:

“Some things exist in our lives for but a brief moment.  And we must let them go on to light another sky.”

“…you cannot control the actions of others.  You can only control what you do with yourself afterward.”

“Khalid held the burning letter before him.  Then he released its embers into the wind. Into a glorious dawn.”


What did you guys think of this book? Leave a comment below!

Talk to you soon,

A

4 comments

  1. Great review! I thoroughly enjoyed this one as well. But I have to agree; I didn’t care too much for the Jahandar and Tariq chapters. I just wanted more of Khalid and Shahrzad. I have to say my favorite moment out of the entire novel would be when Khalid says to Shahrzad, “Get up. You kneel before no one. Least of all me.” So, so powerful. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

