Book Rambling: Mistborn – The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson

Title: Mistborn: The Final Empire

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Series: Mistborn (Book 1)

Genre: High/Epic Fantasy

Publication: July 17, 2006

Rating: ★★★★★


Goodreads Summary:

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with color once more?

In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage – Allomancy, a magic of the metals.


Review:

Brandon Sanderson never disappoints.  This is only my second Sanderson book I have read, but it definitely will not be my last.  His character development, the world building, the magic system, the plot, the writing, everything was just perfection.  I have heard so much hype about this book on other book blogs and on BookTube, and it has been christened as many people’s favorites, but I am always wary about very hyped books.  However, this book truly deserves the hype and actually deserves more hype.

I do not want this to be a review with spoilers because there is way too much that occurs in this book for me to address everything I want to talk about because it would end up being a 1,000 page paper.  I did want to say that the last two parts of this novel had my emotions on a rollercoaster.  My emotions were torn apart, and I cared about characters that I didn’t even know I cared about!  I truly enjoy books that are really character central, and Sanderson’s cast of characters in The Final Empire were both complex and lovable.  Everyone brought a unique element to the story; the novel would not be complete without all of them.

Furthermore, this magic system is definitely on of the more intriguing systems that I have ever read about.  I thought Sanderson developed it very well, and it made sense despite the complexities in the system.  I think that because the main protagonist in the novel was also fairly new to the magic system, learning it alongside her helped the reader understand it better.

Overall, this book was amazing.  I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately, being away from home for so long this summer (I apologize for the lack of updates!), but this book pushed me right out of the slump.  I read all 671 pages of my floppy paperback edition with lightning speed and enjoyed every second.  Now I’m just regretting not purchasing the other two books! (Also, I’m really eyeing those UK editions…. I bought the one that’s pictured above because that was the only version my B&N had besides the mass market paperbacks, but the minimalist white, blue and grey covers are gorgeous)


Have you all read this book? What did you think? Tell me in the comments below! If you haven’t, go pick it up right now! You won’t regret it!

Stay Awesome,

A

5 comments

What Are Your Thoughts?

