Book Rambling: Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Title: Scarlet

Author: Marissa Meyer

Series: Lunar Chronicles (Book #2)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy/Science Fiction

Publication: February 5, 2012

Rating: ★★★★1/2


Goodreads Summary:

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison–even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.


Non – Spoiler Review:

I loved this book! I flew through this one in one day (two sittings) which is definitely an improvement from the 1-2 weeks it took me to finish Cinder.  The second installment in the Lunar Chronicles is engaging, exciting, and a fun, entertaining read!

I adore all the new characters that were introduced; Captain Thorne’s humor and ego was always fun to look forward too.  Wolf is a complete sweetheart (I’ll forgive the slight insta-love that occurred in his story line), and  I admire Scarlet’s devotion to her grandmother and her badass-ness (although she also did annoy me in some instances).  Prince Kai is still not my favorite character, and I probably did enjoy this book more than Cinder because he is not as prominent in this novel.  Plus, Iko <3.

The twists and turns presented in this novel definitely surprised me even though some parts were a bit predictable.  However, it is action-packed and an enthralling story!  There is definitely more world building, and I can tell that this book set up for some big events to occur later on in the series.  I know a lot of people are not a fan of the switching perspectives, but I really enjoyed it.  The chapters are short enough to keep me engaged without wanting one perspective too much over the other, but there is enough for there to be two huge action-based story lines for readers to be sucked into.  I loved when the characters all came together, and I cannot wait to see more of the dynamic between everyone.

Time to read Cress for more Captain Thorne!

2 comments

  1. AHHHH I’m so glad you liked Scarlet! Though I liked the other books better, this one is still pretty good! And yep, I’m pretty sure almost all of us are swooning over Thorne, if not everyone. At least, I’m adding him to my sad list of fictional boyfriends (some of which are already dead).

    Liked by 1 person

What Are Your Thoughts?

