Book Rambling: The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken

Title: The Darkest Minds

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Series: The Darkest Minds (Book#1)

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian

Publication: December 18, 2012

Rating: ★★★★


Goodreads Synopsis:

When Ruby woke up on her tenth birthday, something about her had changed. Something alarming enough to make her parents lock her in the garage and call the police. Something that gets her sent to Thurmond, a brutal government “rehabilitation camp.” She might have survived the mysterious disease that’s killed most of America’s children, but she and the others have emerged with something far worse: frightening abilities they cannot control.

Now sixteen, Ruby is one of the dangerous ones.

When the truth comes out, Ruby barely escapes Thurmond with her life. Now she’s on the run, desperate to find the one safe haven left for kids like her—East River. She joins a group of kids who escaped their own camp. Liam, their brave leader, is falling hard for Ruby. But no matter how much she aches for him, Ruby can’t risk getting close. Not after what happened to her parents.

When they arrive at East River, nothing is as it seems, least of all its mysterious leader. But there are other forces at work, people who will stop at nothing to use Ruby in their fight against the government. Ruby will be faced with a terrible choice, one that may mean giving up her only chance at a life worth living.


Non-Spoilery Review:

This book was a really fun ride! I can’t believe I finally picked this up after wanting to read it in forever.  I know some people were disappointed by this novel especially after the hype surrounding it, but I was not too hyped up for this book.  Yes, this does contain some of the generic YA dystopian tropes, but I think Bracken made it enjoyable, and it was not a boring read at all.

Where this book definitely excels is in its character development.  Most generic YA female heroines manage to piss me off a lot through the course of the book (cough Juliette in Unravel Me cough), but Ruby was actually a likeable character!  Besides her choices in the very end (we’ll get to that later), I really liked her character and her relationships with everyone else, and my heart broke for her tragic backstory.  Furthermore, Zu and Chubs were two of the best side characters ever, and I just want more of them!  Liam is so easy to fall in love with, and he’s an amazing male lead.  Bracken did a marvelous job with developing the characters and their relationships!

While character development was amazing, I think that traded off with a lot of world building and plot development.  There was action packed plot, don’t get me wrong, but for some parts of the novel, I was not sure what our protagonists were doing, and I got a bit confused.  Concerning the world building, I think there is so much potential in this world! I love the different colors and the powers, and I cannot wait to see more of the magic involved.  However, I wanted more of this world building to occur in the first books, but since this is a trilogy, I am not too worried.

Finally that ending. the ending.  no words.  The cliffhanger and what Ruby did just left me speechless and so mad!

I cannot wait to pick up the next book!

Favorite Quote: “The darkest minds tend to hide behind the most unlikely faces.”


Have you all read The Darkest Minds? I am sure everyone has, and I’m the last on the bandwagon now… Tell me what you think or link me your review!

One comment

  1. I LOVED all the characters too! Ruby grew on me extensively and I fell DEEPLY in love with Liam ❤ And ZU AND CHUBS! They have my heart 100%! I’ve just finished this one and I can’t wait to read the rest!

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

