2016 Reading Challenges

2016challenges

This is going to be my first year participating in year-long reading challenges since I just started my blog in 2015, but I am very excited to join in on the fun! I would like to thank A Little Reading for her awesome comprehensive list of reading challenges and all the amazing hosts of these challenges!  I will be updating my status in this post as I go throughout the year.

Let me know if any of you all are doing these challenges too!

2016 Goodreads Reading Challenge

My 2015 goal was 52 books (one a week), and I actually read 90+ books. This year I think I’m going to set it at 100 books.

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
Ali has
read 0 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide

 

 

2016 Six Squared Reading Challenge

graphic-no-icons1

This challenge is hosted by Amber from Book Stacks Amber and the main goal is to read 6 books from each of the 6 categories: debuts, new releases, starts to series, complete a series, movie adaptations, and Goodreads award winners/nominees.  This is perfect to diversify what I read!

2016 Debut Author Challenge

That Artsy Reader Girl

Hosted by the lovely Jana from That Artsy Reader Girl.  I can’t wait to read more debut novels and discover more fabulous authors and books! She also has a helpful Google Spreadsheet of 2016 debuts.

2016 Backlist Books Reading Challenge

backlist-books

Hosted by the awesome Bekka from Pretty Deadly Reviews. As a newer member of the book blogging community, I have quite a few books and series that I want to “catch up” on. This challenge is perfect for reading books published over a year ago

2016 Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge

flightsoffantasy-2016A reading challenge for my favorite genre ever? I think yes! This challenge is hosted by the awesome Alexa from Alexa Loves Books and amazing Rachel from Hello, Chelly.

I’m going to set a goal of 35 fantasy books; since I love fantasy, hopefully I’ll exceed that!

2016 Finishing the Series Reading Challenge

final2b22blarge

Hosted by the Bea’s Book Nook! I know that I have a lot of series that I started either this year or earlier, and I need to finish them ASAP!  Tentative goals listed below don’t include possible 2016 releases yet.

Goals: Level 4 – 7+ Series

  1. Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi
    a. Ignite Me (#3)
    b. Fracture Me (#2.5)
  2. The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski
    a. The Winner’s Crime (#2)
  3. Young Elites Series by Marie Lu
    a. The Rose Society (#2)
  4. Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
    a. Cress (#3)
    b. Fairest (novella)
    c. Winter (#4)
  5. Sweet Trilogy by Wendy Higgins
    a. Sweet Reckoning (#3)
    b. Sweet Temptation (other pov)
  6. Mercy Thompson Series by Patricia Briggs (#4-?)
  7. Archived series by Victoria Schwab
    a. The Unbound (#2)

2016 Around the Year in 52 Books 

174195

I found this Goodreads challenge recently, and it sounded so interesting! This challenge presents 52 challenges, one for each week of the year, and each participant will read a book of their choice that falls under the challenge requirement.  I think I will be going mostly in order, but I may jump around reading certain books per month (ie jumping around for the 4 topics in that month)

Goodreads Plan

2016 Popsugar Ultimate Reading Challenge

popsugar-logo-pink

1. A book based on a fairy tale
2. A National Book Award winner
3. A YA bestseller
4. A book you have not read since high school
5. A book set in your home state
6. A book translated to English
7. A romance set in the future
8. A book set in Europe
9. A book that is under 150 pages
10. A New York Times bestseller
11. A book that is coming a movie this year
12. A book recommended by someone you just met
13. A self-improvement book
14. A book you can finish in a day
15. A book written by a celebrity
16. A political memoir
17. A book at least 100 years older than you
18. A book that is more than 600 pages
19. A book from Oprah’s Book Club
20. A science-fiction novel
21. A book recommended by a family member
22. A graphic novel
23. A book that is published in 2016
24. A book with a protagonist who has your occupation
25. A book that takes place during Summer
26. A book at its prequel
27. A murder mystery
28. A book written by a comedian
29. A dystopian novel
30. A book with a blue cover
31. A book of poetry
32. A first book you see in a bookstore
33. A classic from the 20th century
34. A book from the library
35. A autobiography
36. A book about a road trip
37. A book about a culture you’re unfamiliar with
38. A satirical book
39. A book that takes place on an island
40. A book that’s guaranteed to bring you joy

 

8 comments

What Are Your Thoughts?

