Book Rambling: Seven Ways We Lie (ARC)

Book Review

26240663

 

Title: Seven Ways We Lie

Author: Riley Redgate

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publication: March 8, 2016

Rating: ★★★1/2

 


Goodreads Summary:

Paloma High School is ordinary by anyone’s standards. It’s got the same cliques, the same prejudices, the same suspect cafeteria food. And like every high school, every student has something to hide—whether it’s Kat, the thespian who conceals her trust issues onstage; or Valentine, the neurotic genius who’s planted the seed of a school scandal.

When that scandal bubbles over, and rumors of a teacher-student affair surface, everyone starts hunting for someone to blame. For the unlikely allies at the heart of it all, the collision of their seven ordinary-seeming lives results in extraordinary change.

 


 

Non-Spoiler Review:

When I read the description to this book, it immediately intrigued me. I book based off of the seven deadly sins seems like it has a lot of room for discussion of very real conflicts that people experience. While Riley Redgate did a good job, and it was an engaging read, I thought that at times, everything seemed very exaggerated and overwhelming.

I enjoyed the writing – it was easy, fast paced and fun to read. I know lots of people may dislike the multiple points of view, but I think it was refreshing. At times, I got confused as to which character was speaking, but Redgate did a fantastic job differentiating the voices of the characters. As a big fantasy reader, I had no problem with the multiple points of view.

The plot was interesting enough to keep me going, and I wanted to see the characters discover the different conflicts each had and how they were going to deal with them. However, like I mentioned before, I became a little overwhelming sometimes because it felt like a hodgepodge of everything that could go wrong. On the other hand, Redgate did a great job delivering his message about how everyone has issues that they must deal with, and those issues are real and tough, but no one has the right to judge anyone for that.

Even though it was a little unbelievable, overall, I enjoyed this read! It was a refreshing contemporary read that doesn’t follow the normal YA tropes, and it wasn’t very romance centered. If you are a contemporary lover, I do recommend this!

**Thank you so much Net Galley and Amulet Books for providing me with an ARC copy. All opinions are entirely my own**

Signature 3

4 comments

What Are Your Thoughts?

